Blessings

We all need blessings. We pray for blessings. We yearn for blessings. We wait for blessings.

Often when someone will ask me “How are you?” I might respond with “I am blessed!” Sometimes that answer takes everything in me  because my circumstances are looking like I am living in a pit of hell. They look at me with a confused look and some sort of mutter to me “Oh, what does that mean?” This response has been taught to me by another Christian who told me to always give an answer that gives God the glory, no matter what you are going through. Sometimes I have rationalized to the person that I am always receiving blessings. Often I did not understand my own comment but felt in my middle that the answer was a good one.

Recently, I sense some light on the topic. I am grateful for this light. I share with you what I understand about my answer “I am blessed!”

I am blessed always because of what scriptures say in the Beatitudes.

Matthew 5  (NIV)…..Introduction to the Sermon on the Mount …..The Beatitudes

1 Now when Jesus saw the crowds, he went up on a mountainside and sat down. His disciples came to him, 2 and he began to teach them.  He said:

3 “Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
4 Blessed are those who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
5 Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the earth.
6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled.
7 Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
8 Blessed are the pure in heart,
for they will see God.
9 Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.
10 Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11 “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. 12 Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

So I am truly blessed at all times as scripture is God’s Word and the promise is there that in all those positive and negatives circumstances of poverty of spirit, grieving, persecution and insult and lies as well as when I have strived to be pure in heart, merciful, meek or humble, and a peacemaker that the need will be met. To have all my needs met means that I am truly blessed.

I may not feel blessed but I have learned that feelings do not tell the truth. They change quickly and they interpret incorrectly. When I have focussed on the blessing rather than the feeling, my emotions change and I feel more peace and blessed. When I focussed on the Giver rather than the gift then I am in the place of receiving the fullness of the blessing.

Copyright 2011 Gloria Winn

2 thoughts on “Blessings

Leave a Reply

