Change Your Life, Change Your Thoughts

Every now and again I feel that my life needs to change. To be more specific, I need to change. When I spend time in prayer and meditation, I sense the Lord calling me to come closer. If I am feeling rebellious, I want to run the other way. There have been some days though when I sensed the intimacy and love of God and desired more. On those days, when it seems that God knows when is best, I sense that more is better.

Change can be frightening. Only when I am aware of the love and care of my God am I able to say YES to him. I trust that his plan is good and safe for me. It may be challenging but with him at my side I can do it:

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. (Phil 4:13)

The area of change is in my thought life. If I change my thought life, change is possible. I never knew that I could choose my thoughts. I was never told this. Yes, there are areas of maturing that are ongoing and I am grateful for the wisdom that God has been providing for me through scriptures and through people who speak his truth to me. I never had any intuitive leadings to this. So scripture provides the truth for me:

Do not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that you may prove what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. (Romans 12:2)

So here I am wanting to choose my thoughts and applying both scriptures and a new insight comes to me. When I choose my thoughts, I am choosing God, I am choosing healthier thoughts, I am choosing to grow and learn, I am choosing more than I have now, and I am choosing the best that God has for me. He will guide my thoughts as I ask him to teach me how to love as he loves.

God’s best love is Jesus. The Holy Trinity, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, are providing the best, IF I ASK.  I have heard somewhere in my life that “I have not because I ask not.”

So now I ask “Lord help me! Help me with the choosing of my thoughts and help me to choose you and more with every breath in me”

 

Copyright © 2014 Gloria Winn, all rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

