Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life – Part 2

2 Corinthians 10:4-5 (NIV)

The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world.
On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.

We demolish arguments and every pretension that
sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and
we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.
 

This scripture has been a touchstone for me in my life. The battle in my mind goes on but now I have victory. This passage of God’s Word teaches that I am not fighting God and that I have power over my thoughts with prayer and claiming scripture.

The source of the negative thoughts are usually from my own history of brokenness and woundedness but also the enemy desires to torture and destroy my gift of peace.

The battle of negative thoughts can be based on many important or non-important issues in my life; e.g., guilt, shame, resentments, fears, anger, worry, and the list goes on.

When I have been in a struggle with some negative thoughts, I do not have to fight alone.
I can demolish or destroy negative thoughts and arguments. I can by my own words and reactions to the negative thoughts put an end to the accusation, argument, or divisive language and words. I can capture or seize the thoughts, taking control over the influence that the negative thoughts have and rendering them ineffective. By my taking my rightful role as a child of God in prayer and with the divine power that comes with the Word of God, I can rebuke the thoughts and neutralize and invalidate the messages.

The weapons that I have to fight these negative thoughts are God Himself and prayer and claiming scripture to come into effect into my life. I ask God to help me. I speak to the negative thoughts and tell them to be quiet, and to go to Jesus Christ, and I ask Jesus to give me His thoughts.These thoughts that come to me now are under the obedience of my Lord Jesus. I can tell by some of the spiritual fruits in my mind, as mentioned in Galations 5: I will experience some of the following: peace, love, joy, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness and self control. I may have to do the exercise several times before I sense peaceful thoughts, as well as kind and loving thoughts.

Often I will claim the scripture passage  2 Cor 10:4 and 5 as a prayer and the thoughts change.

May this scripture be a powerful blessing to you in your life as it has been in my own.

Copyright © 2014 Gloria Winn, all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

